Did you know?

Protein, fats and carbohydrates are converted into energy in different quantities. Vitamins and minerals are also essential nutrients for the body, but they are not converted into energy.

Energy Content

1 gram of protein

17 kJ

1 gram of fat

37 kJ

1 gram of carbohydrates

17 kJ

1 gram of dietary fibre

8 kJ

1 gram of alcohol

29 kJ

Alcohol - second only to fat!

Did you know alcohol has many more kilojoules than other types of foods?  On this list, alcohol has the second highest energy content per gram - second only to fat!

Learn About Energy

Learn About Nutrients

Daily Intake Levels

The reference values used for the Daily Intake Guide are based on those provided in the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code (FSC).  The FSC has outlined the composition and labelling requirements for food.

According to the FSC, a balanced diet for an average adult is made up of the following nutrients each day:

Nutrient Quantity Per Day
Energy 8,700 kilojoules
Protein 50 grams
Fat 70 grams
Saturated Fatty Acids 24 grams
Carbohydrates 310 grams
Sugars 90 grams
Sodium (salt) 2.3 grams
Dietary Fibre 30 grams

The FSC lists the above reference values for daily intake levels based on an average adult diet of 8,700 kJ.  However, an individual's intake may vary depending on their energy needs and lifestyle.



It's important to remember that the Daily Intake Guide is just that - a guide.

It has been designed to provide you with a guide to the nutrional composition of the food you're eating and beverages you're drinking.  It can help you decide what's right for you!

The DI values are based on an average adult's daily requirement of 8700kJ.  Your DIs may be higher or lower depending on your energy needs.

DIs are not recommendations, but rather an acceptable intake which provides a benchmark suitable for the majority of people.

The DI values are not a target for your day's intake nor are they an average. The DI values should be used as a guide to help you make informed choices about the foods you eat.

Did you know?


Food Standards Australia New Zealand is a bi-national government agency.  Its main responsibility is to develop and administer the Australia and New Zealand Food Standards Code, which lists requirements for foods such as additives, food safety, food labelling and GM foods.  The Daily Intake Guide is made up of nutritional information and guidelines from the Food Standards Code.